Masters News

Friday 12th November 2021

Masters announces its 2021 UK & European Season winners!

Having tallied up all the performances throughout its 2021 European Tour, Masters Historic Racing is proud to announce this year’s Masters UK & European winners!

Congratulations to Mike Cantillon, Lukas Halusa, Shaun Lynn, Michael McInerney, Steve Brooks & Tom Bradshaw, John Spiers, Andrew Haddon, Richard Dutton and the pairing of Marcus Jewell and Ben Clucas!

Although travel restrictions still affected some events this year, the 2021 Masters European Tour included seven great events, starting at a cold and thrilling Donington Park in April and finishing at a wet and buzzing Portimão in October.

In between, Masters held its traditional Masters Historic Festival at Brands Hatch in sunny May; a South of France visit to Paul Ricard in June; then returning to Britain where a special invitation for the Gentlemen Drivers to join the Formula 1 British Grand Prix was awaiting... After a glamorous visit to support Formula 1, Masters then went on to The Classic at Silverstone at the end of July/start of August, before finishing with a busy October month at Spa and the Iberian doubleheader at Jérez and Portimão.

What a year of racing! We’re thrilled to have so many of you join us this year. THANK YOU for making it a fantastic season. Your support and commitment to racing make these events so much fun to organise. We hope you enjoyed the camaraderie at our events whilst honing those racing skills! And now what we have been waiting for...

Masters Historic Formula One – Head & Lauda Classes
In Masters Historic Formula One, a run of six victories (from 12 starts), including early-season double-wins at Donington and Paul Ricard, saw Mike Cantillon (Williams FW07C) convincingly clinch the win for the post-78 division. With two class wins and four podiums during the season, post-82 Lauda class leader, Mark Hazell (Williams FW08), ran Cantillon to a close second. Hazell’s tally pushed Cantillon’s main class rivals Jamie Constable (Tyrrell 011) and Steve Hartley (McLaren MP4/1) into third and fourth in the standings. Constable took two overall wins this year at Spa and Portimão.

Masters Historic Formula One – Fittipaldi & Stewart Classes
Meanwhile, Lukas Halusa proved a dominant pre-78 winner in his McLaren M23, and like Cantillon, scoring six wins from 12 starts allowed the Austrian to sail away from the opposition with a very consistent season. Halusa took overall wins in the Fittipaldi & Stewart Classes at Donington, Brands Hatch and Silverstone. Three wins in a half-season campaign still netted Nick Padmore (Lotus 77) second place as he and Halusa fought for pre-78 honours, while a late surge at Portimão lifted Marc Devis (Surtees TS16) to third overall.

Masters Historic Sports Cars - Overall
A late technical failure in the final laps at Portimão stopped Steve Brooks (Lola T70 Mk3B) taking away the overall win for Masters Historic Sports Cars this year. However, he still took away enough class wins, including an overall race win at Jerez, to share the series spoils with Tom Bradshaw (Chevron B19) in the Masters Historic Sports Car standings. Bradshaw took 3 Marko Class wins at Donington, Silverstone and Spa to seal his joint win this year. In their Chevron B8, Bonnier class winners Charles Allison and Peter Thompson shared third place.

Masters Historic Sports Cars – Hulme Class
A win at Silverstone and a reliable car throughout the season helped John Spiers seal the pre-66 Hulme Class, part of the Masters Historic Sports Cars this year. His haul was ample enough to beat the efforts of class rivals Chris Jolly and Steve Farthing (Cooper Monaco T61M) who took second place. Sharing Spiers’ McLaren M1B on separate occasions and putting on a great show, Tiff Needell and Nigel Greensall took third and fourth respectively.

Masters Endurance Legends – Proto Classes
With four wins and six podiums from ten starts, Shaun Lynn (Peugeot 908 HDi FAP & BR01) became the undisputable Masters Endurance Legends prototype winner, his tally leaving him well clear of his opposition. Thanks to consistent points scoring Christophe d’Ansembourg (Lola-Aston Martin DBR1-2) took second, the Belgian taking class victories at Paul Ricard and Portimão on his way to second place. Mike Newton in his MG Lola EX 257 finished 3rd after class wins at Donington and Brands Hatch.

Masters Endurance Legends – GT Classes
The race for the GT title was incredibly close, with some memorable close races to remember. Although it could have gone either way, Michael McInerney (Mosler MT900R) finally lifted the crown, just ahead of Marcus Jewell (Porsche 996 GT3 RSR). Ben Clucas – Jewell’s teammate on most occasions – did enough for third place.

Masters Gentlemen Drivers
In Masters Gentlemen Drivers, the winner was decided between CLP class winner Andrew Haddon (Lotus Elan) and C2 class leaders Mark Holme and Jeremy Welch (Austin Healey 3000). In the end, Haddon just clinched it with CLP Class wins at Brands, Silverstone and Portimão, ahead of Holme in second, and Welch in third.

Masters Pre-66 Touring Cars
Despite missing out in MEL, Marcus Jewell and Ben Clucas went on to bag the title in Masters Pre-66 Touring Cars, including an amazing overall race win at Donington Park. However, they did have to share honours with Richard Dutton who also competed in a similar Lotus Cortina. The trio’s efforts were enough to fend off Craig Davies (Ford Mustang) in third place.

CONGRATULATIONS to all Masters Winners for 2021!! Crack open some bubbly and celebrate your wins! Even if you didn’t take home a trophy this year, thanks for racing with us - we have thoroughly enjoyed having you race with us this year!

NEW: We've made a short winners video for you to enjoy this year! Watch it on the Masters Facebook Page at

The new calendar comes out soon including the date of the Masters Prize Giving Party! Get ready...2022, here we come!!


Related news