Canadian Tire Motorsport Park, Canada

CANADIAN TIRE MOTORSPORT PARK
1 – 3 Juillet 2022

Sur les traces d’une icône canadienne !

Cela fait cinq ans que nous n’avons pas couru sur ce circuit extraordinaire, chargé d’histoire. C’est l’un des rares circuits au monde qui fonctionne encore dans sa configuration d’origine. Ainsi, sur ce circuit, vous aurez vraiment l’occasion de rouler dans les traces de pneus du héros local Gilles Villeneuve. Le circuit de 3,957 km de long comporte 10 virages difficiles à grande vitesse, ce qui en fait l’une des pistes de course les plus difficiles d’Amérique du Nord !

Nous avons eu droit à de belles courses, à un temps magnifique et à une foule de fans fantastiques au Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. C’était un plaisir de soutenir l’IMSA lors de ses courses sur ce superbe circuit !

RAPPORTS DE COURSE

Masters Racing Legends - Course 1
Constable s’impose dans le peloton pour remporter la première course des Masters Racing Legends au Canada

Jamie Constable est parti du fond de la grille pour tout conquérir dans la première des deux courses de soutien des Masters Racing Legends au Grand Prix Chevrolet de l’IMSA au Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. Au volant de sa Tyrrell 011B, l’Anglais a pris la tête au 7e tour et s’est imposé avec 19,2 secondes d’avance sur la Williams FW08 de Bud Moeller.

Dans la course des voitures de Formule 1 de 1966 à 1985, l’Américain Moeller était lui-même en pleine ascension, partant de la cinquième place sur la grille pour dépasser le leader Lee Mowle au 9e tour et s’emparer de la deuxième place. Au volant de sa Lotus 78, Mowle était parti de la pole position et a mené les six premiers tours jusqu’à ce que le Britannique se retrouve sans défense face à l’irrésistible remontée de son compatriote Constable.

Pendant ce temps, Ron Maydon a pris la quatrième place au volant de sa Lec CRP1 et le Britannique a également remporté les honneurs de la catégorie pré-78, alors que son rival James Hagan commençait à perdre le rythme vers la fin de la course. Dans les premières étapes, Hagan était en deuxième position, mais l’Irlandais a rétrogradé à la septième place, étant dépassé par la March 761 de Dean Baker dans le dernier tour. En cinquième position, Danny Baker a tué un grand nombre de géants en plaçant sa Ralt RT1 Formula Atlantic devant plusieurs F1, dont la March 761 de Gray Gregory en huitième position.

Par une journée chaude et ensoleillée au Canada, le peloton s’élance avec Mowle en tête, devant Danny Baker et James Hagan, mais très vite, le Hesketh passe en deuxième position, tandis que dès le premier tour, Jamie Constable, sur la Tyrrell 011, s’est déjà hissé à la sixième place, alors qu’il était parti en fond de grille.

Au deuxième tour, la Lotus 78 de Mowle devance la Hesketh 308 de Hagan, alors que Ron Maydon dans la Lec CRP1 a également dépassé Baker pour s’emparer de la troisième place, avec la Williams FW08 de Bud Moeller en cinquième position devant Constable, qui est maintenant poursuivi par la Shadow DN8 de Dean Baker et Gray Gregory dans la March 761.

Hagan ne laissait pas Mowle disparaître au loin, cependant, l’Irlandais poursuivait le Britannique et les deux hommes laissaient Maydon derrière eux à trois secondes au 3e tour. Le rapide Constable, quant à lui, s’est frayé un chemin devant Baker et, au quatrième tour, il s’est également débarrassé de Maydon pour se hisser à la troisième place. Derrière Maydon, Moeller, les deux Baker et Gregory ont maintenu leur position.

Mowle est toujours en tête, mais tout change au cinquième tour, Constable ayant pris la deuxième place et s’envolant véritablement, réduisant l’écart avec Mowle à 1,6 seconde. Hagan est troisième devant Maydon et Moeller, ce dernier n’étant qu’à trois secondes du leader, alors que les cinq premiers se rejoignent.

Mowle a tenu bon après six tours, mais Constable était sur ses talons, avec Hagan qui surveillait la situation à deux secondes de distance. Mais au 7e tour, Constable a réussi à prendre la tête de la course. Derrière eux, Moeller a également gagné des places, dépassant Hagan et Maydon en l’espace d’un tour. Avec huit secondes de retard sur le leader, Danny Baker, dans l’unique voiture Atlantic, maintient les F1 de Dean Baker et Gregory à distance.

Alors que Constable commence immédiatement à prendre de la distance avec ses poursuivants, Moeller poursuit son ascension tardive en prenant la deuxième place à Mowle, les deux hommes se retrouvant alors à sept secondes du leader. En quatrième position, Maydon a devancé Hagan, tandis que Danny Baker a réussi à s’accrocher aux cinq voitures de tête de la F1.

Dix tours plus tard, l’avance de Constable sur Moeller est de 8,6 secondes, tandis que Mowle accuse un retard de deux ticks supplémentaires. Maydon a poursuivi la Lotus à trois secondes, mais Hagan a perdu le rythme et a bientôt perdu la cinquième place au profit de Danny Baker.

A moins de dix minutes de la fin, Constable semblait assuré de la première place, Moeller ayant mis cinq secondes entre sa Williams et la Lotus de Mowle. Maydon menait Constable de 17 secondes, et le premier des Bakers de sept secondes. En sixième position, Hagan continue de s’éloigner et Dean Baker se rapproche de l’Irlandais.

Alors que l’horloge tourne à zéro, Constable signe le meilleur tour de la course au 16e tour pour affirmer son autorité, la Tyrrell menant désormais Moeller de 12 secondes et Mowle de 20. Il reste quatre tours à parcourir, au cours desquels Constable améliore encore son tour le plus rapide pour porter son avance sur Moeller à 19,2 secondes à l’arrivée. A 32 secondes de Constable, Mowle a pris la troisième place, et Maydon, à 46 secondes du leader, a pris la quatrième place. Danny Baker a pris la cinquième place, à seulement trois secondes de Maydon, tandis que Dean Baker a devancé Hagan pour la sixième place dans le dernier tour. Gregory a pris la huitième place, à 22 secondes de l’Irlandais.

Masters Racing Legends - Course 2
Mowle tient tête à Constable pour remporter la deuxième course des Canadian Masters Racing Legends

Lee Mowle a résisté à la pression intense de Jamie Constable pour remporter la deuxième course de soutien des Masters Racing Legends au Chevrolet Grand Prix de l’IMSA au Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. Les deux Britanniques sont nez à nez pendant les six derniers tours, mais la Lotus 78 de Mowle s’accroche à la Tyrrell 011B de Constable pour remporter la victoire.

Courant sur le circuit anciennement connu sous le nom de Mosport Park, site du GP du Canada entre 1967 et 1977, Mowle a pris les devants dès le quatrième tour, prenant la tête de la March 761 de Gray Gregory, tandis que Constable, vainqueur samedi, est revenu de l’arrière de la grille inversée pour prendre la deuxième place à Bud Moeller après 15 minutes de course, peu avant que l’Américain ne soit contraint à l’abandon lorsque le moteur Cosworth de sa Williams FW08 a commencé à perdre de la pression d’huile.

James Hagan était deuxième dans les premières étapes, mais lorsque sa Hesketh 308 a commencé à perdre le rythme, l’Irlandais est tombé dans les griffes de Dean Baker, dont la Shadow DN8 s’est hissée à la troisième place dans l’avant-dernier tour pour remporter la classe pré-78. Derrière Hagan, Gregory a pris la cinquième place devant Danny Baker dans la voiture Ralt RT1 Formula Atlantic. Ron Maydon a dû abandonner prématurément après que son Lec CRP1 a subi une vibration de pneu.

La deuxième course du week-end s’est déroulée sur une grille de départ inversée, ce qui signifie que le vainqueur du samedi, Jamie Constable, a dû tout recommencer, après être parti de la dernière place sur la grille pour remporter la première course. Cela signifie qu’il n’a pas pris la tête de la course de dimanche, qui s’est déroulée sous le soleil mais dans des conditions plus venteuses et plus fraîches que la veille. Au lieu de cela, Gray Gregory a pris la tête avec la March 761, suivie de la Hesketh 308 de James Hagan, puis de la Shadow DN8 de Dean Baker, de la Lotus 78 de Lee Mowle – après un départ très rapide – et de la Williams FW08 de Bud Moeller. En milieu de peloton, la course de Ron Maydon s’est terminée après un seul tour, son Lec CRP1 rentrant au stand pour abandonner à cause d’une vibration dans ses pneus.

Au deuxième tour, Gregory ne peut plus s’accrocher, car Hagan, Mowle et Moeller se frayent un chemin, tandis que Dean Baker et Jamie Constable suivent Gregory en cinquième et sixième positions, tandis que Danny Baker, dans la seule voiture Atlantic, a chuté à la septième place. La fois suivante, les quatre premiers sont restés les mêmes, mais Constable a remplacé Dean Baker.

Au quatrième tour, Mowle est en tête, tandis que Constable a encore gagné une place, cette fois au détriment de Gregory, tandis que la course de Maydon ne s’est pas entièrement terminée, puisqu’il est revenu dans la course en queue de peloton, avec deux tours de retard. D’autres changements de position se produisent au 5e tour, Moeller devançant Hagan pour prendre la deuxième place tout en laissant l’Irlandais tomber dans les griffes de Constable, qui passe effectivement à la troisième place au 6e tour.

Neuf minutes après le début de la course, deux groupes distincts s’étaient formés, Mowle devançant Moeller de 1,2 seconde, suivi par Constable qui, à 3,1 secondes du leader, se rapprochait rapidement de Moeller, tandis que Hagan tentait de s’accrocher au groupe de tête. Avec 18 secondes de retard sur Mowle, Dean Baker a pris la tête du deuxième groupe composé de Gregory et Danny Baker.

Alors que Mowle continue de mener après 7 tours, la pression sur le Britannique augmente, Moeller n’ayant plus que six dixièmes de retard, et Constable six autres dixièmes derrière l’Américain. Hagan, au volant de la Hesketh, perdait le rythme et perdait soudainement trois secondes par tour sur le trio de tête. A l’arrière, Maydon se retire définitivement de la course.

15 minutes après le début de la course, Constable se rapproche de Moeller en réalisant le tour le plus rapide de la course, mais Mowle reste en tête. En fait, le Britannique n’a pas du tout facilité la tâche de son compatriote, car il a vaillamment maintenu sa Lotus en tête tour après tour, les deux ayant distancé Moeller de trois secondes. Hagan, quant à lui, est tombé dans les griffes de Dean Baker, à une quarantaine de secondes des deux leaders, mais l’Irlandais s’est également bien défendu pendant deux tours.

Au 15e tour, Hagan est automatiquement promu troisième lorsque la FW08 de Moeller rentre au stand, tandis que Mowle maintient Constable à distance pendant deux tours supplémentaires. Dans les stands, il apparaît rapidement que la Williams de l’Américain souffre d’un problème de pression d’huile.

Alors que les dernières minutes s’égrènent, tous les regards se tournent vers les deux leaders. Mowle tiendra-t-il jusqu’au bout ? Quelques 50 secondes derrière eux, Dean Baker s’est hissé à la troisième place aux dépens de Hagan, mais entre les deux premiers, rien n’a changé – Mowle a remporté la course devant Constable, avec Baker en troisième position devant Hagan, tout en remportant la victoire dans la catégorie pré-78 au volant de sa Shadow DN8. Gray Gregory a terminé cinquième dans sa March 761, à une minute du vainqueur, tandis que Danny Baker a suivi Gregory sur la ligne d’arrivée en sixième position dans la seule voiture Ralt RT1 Atlantic.

RÉSULTATS DE LA COURSE

Canadian Tire Motorsport Park, Canada

CANADIAN TIRE MOTORSPORT PARK
1 – 3 July 2022

Following in the Footsteps of a Canadian Icon!

It’s been 5 years since we last raced at this amazing circuit steeped in racing history. It’s one of only a handful of circuits worldwide that still operates to its original configuration. So, on this circuit, you will really get to drive in the tyre marks of local hero Gilles Villeneuve. The 3.957km long circuit features 10 high-speed, difficult corners, making it one of the most challenging race tracks in North America!

We enjoyed great racing, awesome weather and a fantastic fan crowd at the Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. It was a blast to support IMSA with their races at this stunning circuit!

RACE REPORTS

Masters Racing Legends – Race 1
Constable storms through the field to win first Masters Racing Legends race in Canada

Jamie Constable came from the back of the grid to conquer all in the first of two Masters Racing Legends support races to IMSA’s Chevrolet Grand Prix at the Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. In his Tyrrell 011B, the Englishman hit the front on lap 7 and drove away to win by 19.2 seconds over Bud Moeller’s Williams FW08.

In the race for Formula One cars from 1966 to 1985, American Moeller was on a charge himself, coming through from fifth on the grid to pass early leader Lee Mowle on lap 9 and snatch second place. In his Lotus 78, Mowle had started from pole and led the first six laps until the Briton proved defenseless against his countryman Constable’s unstoppable drive up the order.

Meanwhile, Ron Maydon took fourth in his Lec CRP1 as the Brit also claimed pre-78 class honours, as his rival James Hagan began to lose pace towards the end of the race. In the opening stages, Hagan was up into second place but the Irishman would drop down to seventh place, being overtaken by Dean Baker’s March 761 on the final tour. In fifth, Danny Baker slayed a fair number of giants by putting his Ralt RT1 Formula Atlantic car ahead of several F1 cars that also included Gray Gregory’s March 761 in eighth.

On a hot and sunny day in Canada, the field was sent on its way with Mowle leading Danny Baker and James Hagan, but soon the Hesketh was past into second place, while on the opening lap Jamie Constable in the Tyrrell 011 had already made his way up to sixth place, from his starting spot at the back of the grid.

On lap 2, Mowle’s Lotus 78 led Hagan’s Hesketh 308, as Ron Maydon in the Lec CRP1 had also passed Baker to snatch third, with Bud Moeller’s Williams FW08 in fifth ahead of Constable, who was now chased by Dean Baker’s Shadow DN8 and Gray Gregory in the March 761.

Hagan wasn’t allowing Mowle to disappear into the distance, however, the Irishman hounding the Briton as the pair left Maydon behind by three seconds on lap 3. The fast-climbing Constable, meanwhile, had made his way past Baker, and on lap 4 also dispatched of Maydon to move up into third. Behind Maydon, Moeller, the two Bakers and Gregory maintained position.

Apart from Mowle still leading it was all change on lap 5, though, Constable now up into second place and and truly flying, diminishing the gap to Mowle to 1.6 seconds. Hagan was third ahead of Maydon and Moeller, the latter still only three seconds adrift from the leader, as the top-five bunched together.

Mowle held his ground after six laps, but Constable was snapping at his heels, with Hagan holding a watching brief at two seconds’ distance. On lap 7, though, Constable had done it and charged through into the lead. Behind them, Moeller had made places too, sweeping past Hagan and Maydon in the time of one lap. Now eight seconds behind the leader, Danny Baker in the sole Atlantic car still kept the F1 machines of Dean Baker and Gregory at bay.

As Constable immediately began to put distance between himself and the chasing pack, Moeller continued his late charge by snapping up second place from Mowle, the two now seven seconds adrift of the leader. In fourth, Maydon had got ahead of Hagan, while Danny Baker still managed to hang on to the leading five F1 cars.

Ten laps gone, Constable’s lead over Moeller was 8.6 seconds, with Mowle two further ticks down. Maydon chased the Lotus by three seconds, but Hagan was losing pace and soon lost fifth place to Danny Baker.

With less than ten minutes remaining, Constable looked secure in first, with Moeller having put five seconds between his Williams and Mowle’s Lotus. Maydon trailed Constable by 17 seconds, with the first of the Bakers a further seven seconds down. In sixth, Hagan continued to drop away, and now Dean Baker was closing in on the Irishman.

As the clock ticked down to zero, Constable set fastest lap of the race on lap 16 to further assert his authority, the Tyrrell now leading Moeller by 12 seconds and Mowle by 20. Four more laps remained, in which Constable further improved on his fastest lap of the lap to increase his lead over Moeller to 19.2 seconds at the finish. 32 seconds from Constable, Mowle took third, with Maydon 46 seconds down on the leader in fourth. Danny Baker took fifth, just three seconds away from Maydon, while Dean Baker pipped Hagan for sixth on the final lap. Gregory took eighth, 22 seconds from the Irishman.

Masters Racing Legends – Race 2
Mowle holds off Constable for win in second Canadian Masters Racing Legends race

Lee Mowle resisted intense pressure from Jamie Constable to win the second Masters Racing Legends support race to IMSA’s Chevrolet Grand Prix at the Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. The two Britons were nose-to-tail for the final six laps, but Mowle’s Lotus 78 hung on for victory against Constable’s Tyrrell 011B.

Racing on the circuit formerly known as Mosport Park, the site of the Canadian GP between 1967 and 1977, Mowle hit the front on lap 4, taking the lead from reverse pole-sitter Gray Gregory’s March 761, while Saturday’s winner Constable came from the back on the reverse grid to take second from Bud Moeller after 15 minutes of the race, shortly before the American was forced to retire when his Williams FW08’s Cosworth engine began losing oil pressure.

James Hagan was second in the opening stages but when his Hesketh 308 started to lose pace, the Irishman fell into the clutches of Dean Baker whose Shadow DN8 moved up into third on the penultimate lap to win the pre-78 class. Behind Hagan, Gregory took fifth from Danny Baker in the Ralt RT1 Formula Atlantic car. Ron Maydon was an early retirement after his Lec CRP1 developed a tyre vibration.

A reverse grid was decided on for the second race of the weekend, meaning that Saturday’s winner Jamie Constable had to do it all over again, having raced from last on the grid to victory in the first race. This meant that he didn’t lead away from Sunday’s race held in sunny but windier and cooler conditions than on the day before. Instead, Gray Gregory led away in the March 761, with James Hagan’s Hesketh 308 next up, followed by Dean Baker’s Shadow DN8, Lee Mowle’s Lotus 78 – after a very fast start – and Bud Moeller’s Williams FW08. From the middle of the pack, Ron Maydon’s race was over after a single lap, his Lec CRP1 coming into the pits to retire with a vibration in his tyres.

On lap 2, Gregory was unable to hang on anymore, as Hagan, Mowle and Moeller all made their way through, with Dean Baker and Jamie Constable following Gregory in fifth and sixth, while Danny Baker in the sole Atlantic car had dropped to seventh. Next time around, the top-four stayed the same but Constable switched places with Dean Baker.

On lap 4, Mowle was into the lead, while Constable had made up another place, this time at the cost of Gregory, while Maydon’s race proved not to be entirely over after all, as he re-entered the race right at the back, two laps down. More position changes occurred on lap 5, with Moeller moving ahead of Hagan to take second place while allowing the Irishman to fall into the clutches of Constable, who indeed went through into third on lap 6.

Nine minutes into the race, two distinct groups had formed, with Mowle leading Moeller by 1.2 seconds, followed by Constable who trailed the leader by 3.1 seconds was closing down on Moeller fast, while Hagan tried to hang on to the lead group. 18 seconds down on Mowle, Dean Baker headed the second group that also consisted of Gregory and Danny Baker.

As Mowle continued to lead after 7 laps, the pressure on the Briton was increasing, Moeller now just six tenths down, with Constable another six tenths behind the American. Hagan in the Hesketh was losing pace and was suddenly dropping three seconds per lap on the leading trio. At the back, Maydon now retired from the race for good.

15 minutes into the race, Constable made the move on Moeller while setting fastest lap of the race, but Mowle still hung on in the lead. In fact, the Briton wasn’t making it easy for his countryman at all, as he valiantly kept his Lotus in front lap after lap, the two having dropped Moeller by three seconds. Hagan, meanwhile, had fallen into Dean Baker’s clutches, some 40 seconds down on the two leaders, but the Irishman equally defended well for two laps.

On lap 15, Hagan was automatically promoted into third when Moeller’s FW08 came trundling into the pits, while Mowle kept Constable at bay for two more laps. In the pits, it soon became apparent that the American’s Williams suffered from an oil pressure issue.

As the final minutes ticked away, all eyes were on the two leaders. Would Mowle hold on until the end? Some 50 seconds behind them, Dean Baker had made it up into third at the expense of Hagan, but among the front two nothing changed – Mowle won the race from Constable, with Baker in third ahead of Hagan while also taking the pre-78 class win in his Shadow DN8. Gray Gregory was fifth in his March 761, a minute down on the winner, while Danny Baker followed Gregory across the line in sixth in the lone Ralt RT1 Atlantic car.