The Raceway, Belle Isle Park

Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix presented by Lear
3 – 5 Juin 2022

Nous avons toujours souhaité organiser une course de soutien à l’INDYCAR et à l’IMSA !

MEL a pris la bonne décision de participer à la dernière course au Raceway at Belle Isle Park, ce qui a permis aux pilotes et aux équipes de s’imprégner de l’atmosphère et de la course impressionnante !

RAPPORTS DE COURSE

Masters Endurance Legends USA - Course 1
Craig Bennett remporte la première course des Masters Endurance Legends USA à Detroit en s’emparant de la pole position.

Devant le public de l’IndyCar pour le Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix, Craig Bennett a converti la pole position en victoire lors de la première course des Masters Endurance Legends USA sur le circuit de Belle Isle. Au volant de sa Lola B12/80, Bennett est resté à l’écart de George Krass qui, depuis la quatrième place sur la grille, a dépassé la Chevrolet DP de Brandon Kidd/Kurt Schultz et la Chevrolet C5.R similaire de Kirt Bennett.

Kirt Bennett a pris la deuxième place dans les premiers tours, mais n’a pas pu retenir Krass, qui a ensuite creusé un écart d’une minute avec l’autre Corvette. Loren Beggs a pris la quatrième place au volant de sa Porsche 996 RSR, tandis que Travis Engen a pris la cinquième place au volant de son Audi R8.

Lors des arrêts, la Chevrolet DP Kidd/Schultz est restée bloquée dans les stands bien plus longtemps que prévu, ce qui l’a fait rétrograder à la sixième place devant Frank Moceri et Sebastian Coppola dans les deux Ferrari Challenge. Les deux Ligier JSP3-15 n’ont pas réussi à atteindre l’arrivée, Brad Hoyt et Bud Bennett abandonnant dans la seconde moitié de la course, tout comme la Porsche 991 GT3-R de Douglas Baron.

C’est par un beau samedi matin, sous un ciel bleu clair, que les Masters Endurance Legends USA se sont élancés pour leur première course du week-end d’IndyCar à Détroit. Alors que Craig Bennett prend la tête, les deux Corvettes le suivent, tout comme Loren Beggs sur la 996 RSR, laissant Brandon Kidd sur le Daytona Prototype en cinquième position. La première victime de la course – avant même qu’elle ne commence – a été David Nikolas dans la jolie Fabcar GTP, toujours frappé par la fuite d’huile qui a écourté ses qualifications. La Mustang Trans-Am Riley & Scott de Jon DeGaynor et l’Audi R8 LMS GT3 de David Roberts ont connu le même sort.

Trois tours plus tard, Craig Bennett, avec sa Lola B12/80 de l’ex-Status, prend une avance de plus de quatre secondes sur Kirt Bennett, dans la première des C5.Rs. Krass, dans la deuxième Corvette, est à deux secondes, et deux autres ticks le séparent de Beggs. Pendant ce temps, Travis Engen s’est hissé à la sixième place, passant avec son Audi R8 devant la Porsche 911 GT3-R de Douglas Baron, mais devançant la Chevrolet DP de Kidd de 18 secondes déjà. Bud Bennett sur la Ligier JSP3-15 est huitième, suivi de Brad Hoyt sur une voiture française LMP3 similaire. Derrière eux se trouvaient les deux voitures Challenge de Sebastian Coppola (458 Challenge) et Frank Moceri (488 Evo Challenge).

Au 6e tour, dix minutes après le début de la course, Bennett (C.) a porté son avance à six sur Bennett (K.), mais Krass se rapproche de son compatriote pilote de Corvette, avec moins d’une seconde d’avance. Derrière eux, Kidd a dépassé Beggs pour se hisser à la quatrième place du classement général, tandis qu’Engen a commencé à réduire lentement l’écart avec les cinq premiers.

À l’approche de la fenêtre des stands, Krass avait devancé Kirt Bennett pour la deuxième place et tournait maintenant plus vite que le leader. Avec son tour le plus rapide de la course en 1.38.0, Krass réduit l’avance de la Lola à seulement trois secondes, tandis que Kidd, quatrième, se rapproche également de la Corvette en troisième position. En fait, Krass était en train de voler, et il a battu son propre tour rapide de huit dixièmes supplémentaires, réduisant l’avance de Craig Bennett à moins d’une seconde, neuf tours après le début de la course. Au 10e tour, cependant, Bennett réagit en effectuant lui-même le tour le plus rapide de la course, ce qui lui permet de reprendre deux secondes d’avance. Derrière le duo de tête, Kidd a écrasé la C5.R de Kirt Bennett pour prendre la troisième place de la Chevrolet DP.

Alors que les premiers arrêts aux stands commencent, le peloton va être secoué pendant quelques tours avant que l’ordre ne soit rétabli. Bud Bennett, Brad Hoyt et Sebastian Coppola sont les premiers à s’arrêter, bientôt suivis par les deux leaders, alors que Kidd reste à l’extérieur pour hériter de la tête tout en réalisant son meilleur tour personnel de la course. Les autres sont maintenant dans le coup, avant qu’au 14ème tour, Kidd soit le dernier à prendre son pitstop et à passer le relais à Kurt Schultz.

Craig Bennett reprend ainsi la tête, mais la Lola est poursuivie par Krass, qui à son tour a fait chuter la deuxième Corvette de Kirt Bennett d’une demi-minute. Beggs a encore 14 secondes d’avance sur Engen qui, à son tour, a 53 secondes d’avance sur eux. Leur classement semble figé, car Schultz a rétrogradé à la sixième place après un long arrêt, mais devance toujours la 991 GT3-R de Baron, qui occupe la septième place.

Pendant ce temps, la Lola de tête a augmenté son avance de près de cinq secondes sur Krass, dont l’avance sur Kirt Bennett est maintenant de 46 secondes. Beggs est quatrième avec 42 secondes d’avance sur l’Audi d’Engen, Schultz est sixième, Moceri septième et Coppola huitième, ces deux derniers ayant hérité des places de la Ligier de Brad Hoyt qui s’est arrêtée sur la piste, de la Porsche de Baron qui a manqué de direction assistée et de freins, et de la Ligier de Bud Bennett qui a frôlé le mur.

Alors que nous nous dirigeons vers le drapeau à damier, Craig Bennett est sûr de sa victoire au volant de la Lola B12/80, suivi par Krass, Kirt Bennett, Beggs, Engen et Schultz. Krass a maintenu l’écart avec Bennett à un niveau impressionnant de six secondes, tout en terminant avec plus d’une minute d’avance sur l’autre Corvette.

Masters Endurance Legends USA - Course 2
Craig Bennett a reproduit sa performance lors de la première course Masters Endurance Legends USA sur le circuit de Detroit. Aux commandes dès le départ, Bennett a pris une avance dominante sur George Krass au volant de la Corvette C5.R avant de décider de rouler en roue libre vers le drapeau à damier.

Devant un public impatient, Krass a remporté sa deuxième place et la victoire en catégorie GT en deux jours, tandis que Bennett et Krass ont été rejoints sur le podium par Brandon Kidd, dont la Chevrolet Dallara DP est passée de la sixième à la troisième place. Dans la deuxième Corvette C5.R, Kirt Bennett se battait avec Kidd pour la troisième place lorsqu’il a été contraint à l’abandon en raison d’une rupture de la tringlerie d’engrenage. L’Audi R8 de Travis Engen se retrouve ainsi en quatrième position, Engen ayant lutté avec Loren Beggs dans la Porsche 996 RSR tout au long de la course.

Douglas Baron a pris la sixième place au volant de sa Porsche 991 GT3-R, devant la Ferrari 488 Eco Challenge de Frank Moceri, Bud Bennett au volant de la première Ligier JSP3-15 et Sebastian Coppola au volant de la Ferrari 458 Challenge. La Ligier de Brad Hoyt a également abandonné la course en fin de course.

Le dimanche matin précédant le Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix Presented by Lear, le peloton est reparti dans l’ordre où il a terminé la course 1, donc Craig Bennett (Lola B12/80) devant les Corvettes de George Krass et Kirt Bennett, avec Loren Beggs dans la Porsche 996 RSR en quatrième position devant l’Audi R8 de Travis Engen et Brandon Kidd conduisant en solo la Chevrolet DP. Frank Moceri et Sebastian Coppola sur les deux Ferrari Challenge occupent la quatrième ligne, devant la 991 GT3-R de Douglas Baron et Brad Hoyt et Bud Bennett sur les deux Ligier JSP3-15. Malheureusement, la Fabcar GTP de David Nikolas n’a pas pu démarrer, tout comme la Mustang Trans-Am de Jon DeGaynor et l’Audi R8 LMS GT3 de David Roberts.

Dans les quatre premiers tours, l’ordre des trois premiers reste inchangé, mais Kidd est l’homme de la situation, dépassant Engen et Beggs pour prendre la quatrième place, tandis que Baron devance Coppola et Moceri pour prendre la septième place. Dans la bataille intra-Ligier, Bud Bennett a dépassé Hoyt et occupe la neuvième place, tandis que Moceri est toujours devant eux, mais devance désormais Coppola.

A l’avant, l’avantage de la Lola est passé à 14 secondes, les deux Corvettes étant séparées par deux secondes. Kidd, au volant de la Chevrolet DP, est huit secondes plus loin, avec 14 secondes d’avance sur Engen, qui a réussi à dépasser Beggs pour la cinquième place. Alors que Craig Bennett améliore son meilleur tour en course au 7ème tour, l’écart avec Krass passe à 19 secondes, tandis que Krass lui-même continue de creuser l’écart avec Kirt Bennett.

A l’approche de la fenêtre des stands, l’ex-Status GP B12/80 s’est hâtée de prendre 26 secondes d’avance sur Krass, qui compte désormais neuf secondes d’avance sur Kurt Bennett. Ce dernier doit maintenant se préoccuper de Brandon Kidd qui a réduit l’écart à quatre secondes. Plus loin, Frank Moceri (488 Evo Challenge) a devancé Baron (991 GT3-R) et s’est emparé de la septième place.

Au 12ème tour, le leader est le premier à rentrer, suivi par Kirt Bennett, Beggs, Engen, Moceri, Hoyt et Coppola. Pour l’instant, cela permet à Krass et Kidd de prendre la première et la deuxième place, tandis que Bud Bennett arrive au 13e tour. En attendant la dernière occasion, la Corvette C5.R et la Chevrolet DP sont passées au stand à la fin du 14ème tour.

Lorsque le terrain a retrouvé son rythme, il reste moins de huit minutes à jouer. Craig Bennett reprend sa place en tête, loin devant Krass, qui suit à 41 secondes. Kidd, quant à lui, a devancé Kirt Bennett pour la troisième place après que ce dernier ait été contraint d’abandonner la deuxième Corvette en raison d’une rupture de la tringlerie de la boîte de vitesses. Presque simultanément, Hoyt est entré dans les stands, abandonnant la dixième place de la Ligier.

Au fur et à mesure que le temps s’égrène, Bennett boucle les derniers tours à un rythme conservateur pour s’imposer avec une marge de 21 secondes, aidé initialement par Krass qui a dû se remettre d’un tête-à-queue en fin de course. Après sa deuxième place lors de la première course, Krass a de nouveau remporté la deuxième place ainsi que la victoire dans la catégorie GT, Kidd montant cette fois sur la dernière marche du podium. La Chevrolet DP a mené la Corvette C5.R de très près, les deux n’étant séparées que par deux secondes au moment du drapeau à damier. Engen était quatrième devant Beggs, après que les deux aient semblé inséparables pendant toute la course, avec Baron, Moceri, Bud Bennett et Coppola.

RÉSULTATS DE LA COURSE

The Raceway, Belle Isle Park

Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix presented by Lear
3 – 5 June 2022

It has always been on our wish-list to have a support race to INDYCAR and IMSA!

It proved to be a good decision for MEL to join in the last race at Raceway at Belle Isle Park, giving drivers and teams a chance to soak up the atmosphere and awesome racing!

RACE REPORTS

Masters Endurance Legends USA – Race 1
Craig Bennett converts pole to win in first Masters Endurance Legends USA race in Detroit.

In front of the IndyCar crowd for the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix, Craig Bennett converted pole position into victory in the first Masters Endurance Legends USA race on the Belle Isle circuit. In his Lola B12/80, Bennett stayed clear of George Krass who from fourth on the grid came through to pass the Brandon Kidd/Kurt Schultz Chevrolet DP and Kirt Bennett’s similar Chevrolet C5.R.

Kirt Bennett ran second in the opening stages but was unable to keep Krass behind, who then proceeded to open up a one-minute gap to the other Corvette. Loren Beggs rose to fourth in his Porsche 996 RSR, with Travis Engen coming through to take fifth in his Audi R8.

During the stops, the Kidd/Schultz Chevrolet DP remained stuck in the pits for much longer than planned, the delay dropping it down to sixth ahead of Frank Moceri and Sebastian Coppola in the two Ferrari Challenge cars. Both Ligier JSP3-15s failed to make it to the finish, Brad Hoyt and Bud Bennett dropping out in the second half of the race, as did Douglas Baron’s Porsche 991 GT3-R.

On a lovely Saturday morning under a clear blue sky, the Masters Endurance Legends USA field got going for their first race on IndyCar’s Detroit weekend. As Craig Bennett led away, the two Corvettes followed him through, as did Loren Beggs in the 996 RSR to leave Brandon Kidd in the Daytona Prototype in fifth. The first casualty of the race – before it even started – was David Nikolas in the pretty Fabcar GTP, still struck by the oil leak that cut his qualifying short. A similar fate befell Jon DeGaynor’s Riley & Scott Trans-Am Mustang and David Roberts’ Audi R8 LMS GT3.

Three laps gone, and Craig Bennett had his ex-Status Lola B12/80 into a lead of over four seconds over Kirt Bennett in the first of the C5.Rs. Krass in the second Corvette was two seconds behind, with another two ticks separating him from Beggs. Meanwhile, Travis Engen had got up to sixth, moving his Audi R8 past the Porsche 911 GT3-R of Douglas Baron, but trailing Kidd’s Chevrolet DP by 18 seconds already. Bud Bennett in the Ligier JSP3-15 was eighth, followed by Brad Hoyt in a similar French LMP3 car. Behind them were the two Challenge cars of Sebastian Coppola (458 Challenge) and Frank Moceri (488 Evo Challenge).

At the front, on lap 6, ten minuts into the race, Bennett (C.) had increased his lead to six over Bennett (K.), but Krass was closing in on his fellow Corvette driver, now less than a second adrift. Behind them, Kidd made his way past Beggs into fourth overall, as Engen set about to slowly close the gap to the top five.

As the pit window approached, Krass had pipped Kirt Bennett for second place and was now in fact lapping quicker than the leader. With a fastest lap of the race of 1.38.0, Krass cut the Lola’s lead to just three seconds, while Kidd in fourth was also closing on the Corvette in third. In fact, Krass was now flying, as he beat his own fastest lap by another eight tenths to cut Craig Bennett’s lead to under a second, now nine laps into the race. On lap 10, however, Bennett responded with a fastest laps of the race himself to increase the lead back up to two seconds. Behind the leading pair, Kidd had swamped Kirt Bennett’s C5.R to take third in the Chevrolet DP.

As the first pitstops got going, the field was about to be shaken up for a few laps before order would be restored. Bud Bennett, Brad Hoyt and Sebastian Coppola were the first to stop, soon followed by the two leaders, as Kidd stayed out to inherit the lead while setting his personal best lap of the race. The rest were now in as well, before on lap 14, Kidd was the last one to take his pitstop and hand over to Kurt Schultz.

This elevated Craig Bennett back into the lead, but the Lola was chased hard by Krass, who in turn had dropped the second Corvette of Kirt Bennett by half a minute. Beggs trailed by another 14 seconds who in turn led Engen by 53 seconds, their placings seemingly set in stone, as Schultz had dropped back to sixth after a long stop but was still ahead of Baron’s 991 GT3-R in seventh.

Meanwhile, the leading Lola had increased its advantage back out to nearly five seconds over Krass, whose lead over Kirt Bennett was now 46 seconds. Beggs was fourth with a 42-second lead over Engen’s Audi, with Schultz in sixth, Moceri seventh and Coppola eighth, the latter two inheriting places from Brad Hoyt’s Ligier that ground to a halt on track, Baron’s Porsche which ran out of power steering and brakes, and Bud Bennett’s Ligier that brushed the wall.

As we headed towards the chequered flag, Craig Bennett was safe for his win in the Lola B12/80, followed home by Krass, Kirt Bennett, Beggs, Engen and Schultz. Krass had kept the gap to Bennett at an impressive six seconds while he himself finished over a minute ahead of the other Corvette.

Masters Endurance Legends USA – Race 2
Craig Bennett copied his performance in the first Masters Endurance Legends USA race on Detroit’s In command from the start, Bennett pulled out a dominant lead over George Krass in the Corvette C5.R before deciding to coast towards the chequered flag.

In front of an expectant IndyCar crowd, Krass took his second runner-up spot and GT class victory in two days, while Bennett and Krass were joined on the podium by Brandon Kidd whose Chevrolet Dallara DP moved up from sixth to third. In the second Corvette C5.R, Kirt Bennett was fighting Kidd over third place when he was forced to retire with a broken gear linkage. This elevated Travis Engen’s Audi R8 into fourth, Engen having battled with Loren Beggs in the Porsche 996 RSR all the way.

Douglas Baron took sixth in his Porsche 991 GT3-R, ahead of Frank Moceri’s Ferrari 488 Eco Challenge, Bud Bennett in the first of the Ligier JSP3-15s, and Sebastian Coppola in the Ferrari 458 Challenge. Brad Hoyt’s Ligier was another late retirement from the race.

On the Sunday morning preceding the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix Presented by Lear, the field was sent on its way in the order in finished in race 1, so Craig Bennett (Lola B12/80) from the Corvettes of George Krass and Kirt Bennett, with Loren Beggs in the Porsche 996 RSR in fourth from Travis Engen’s Audi R8 and Brandon Kidd driving solo in the Chevrolet DP. Frank Moceri and Sebastian Coppola in the two Ferrari Challenge cars occupied row 4, ahead of Douglas Baron’s 991 GT3-R and Brad Hoyt and Bud Bennett in the two Ligier JSP3-15s. Sadly, David Nikolas’ Fabcar GTP was again a non-starter, as were the Trans-Am Mustang of Jon DeGaynor and the Audi R8 LMS GT3 of David Roberts.

In the first four laps, the order among the top three remained unchanged, but Kidd was the man on the move, passing Engen and Beggs to be fourth, while Baron moved ahead of Coppola and Moceri to take seventh. In the intra-Ligier battle, Bud Bennett had passed Hoyt and was ninth – with Moceri still ahead of them, but now leading Coppola.

At the front, the Lola’s advantage had increased to 14 seconds, with the two Corvettes split by two seconds. Kidd in the Chevrolet DP was eight seconds further down the road, by now 14 seconds ahead of Engen, who had managed to vault Beggs for fifth. As Craig Bennett improved his fastest lap of the race on lap 7, the gap to Krass was now up to 19 seconds while Krass himself continued to put additional distance between himself and Kirt Bennett.

As the pit window approached, the ex-Status GP B12/80 had hurried its way to a 26-second lead of Krass, who now had nine seconds in hand over Kurt Bennett. The latter now had to worry about Brandon Kidd who had closed the gap down to four seconds. Further back, Frank Moceri in the 488 Evo Challenge had nipped ahead of Baron in the 991 GT3-R to reclaim seventh.

On lap 12, the leader was the first one in, followed by Kirt Bennett, Beggs, Engen, Moceri, Hoyt and Coppola. For the moment, this elevated Krass and Kidd into first and second, while Bud Bennett came in on lap 13. Saving it for the last possible opportunity, the Corvette C5.R and the Chevrolet DP pitted at the end of lap 14.

When the field had settled back into its rhythm again, less than eight minutes still remained on the clock. Craig Bennett resumed his position at the top, now well clear of Krass, who followed 41 seconds behind. Kidd, meanwhile, had pipped Kirt Bennett for third after the latter was forced to retire the second Corvette with a broken gearbox linkage. Almost simultaneously, Hoyt was into the pits as well, dropping out of tenth place in the Ligier.

As the clock ticked down, Bennett reeled off the remaining laps at a conservative pace to win by a margin of 21 seconds, initially helped by Krass having to recover from a late spin. After his runner-up spot in the first race, Krass again took second as well as an emphatic GT class win, with Kidd moving into the final overall podium position this time. The Chevrolet DP ran the Corvette C5.R very close, the two separated by just two seconds at the chequered flag. Engen was fourth ahead of Beggs, after the two seemed inseparable the entire race, with Baron, Moceri, Bud Bennett and Coppola up next.