Road America, USA

WeatherTech International Challenge with Brian Redman, 18 – 21 Juillet 2019

RAPPORTS DE COURSE

Masters Endurance Legends USA – Course 1
Bennett remporte la course de qualification des Légendes de l’Endurance

Craig Bennett surmonte un arrêt au stand pour remporter la course de qualification des Masters Endurance Legends au WeatherTech International Challenge de Road America avec Brian Redman Presented by Hawk.

Bien que la course de qualification des Masters Endurance Legends d’aujourd’hui ait commencé comme une promenade de santé pour Craig Bennett, elle s’est terminée par une lutte beaucoup plus serrée. Au volant de sa Lola B12/80, Bennett a devancé Travis Engen (Audi R8 LMP1) d’un modeste 36 secondes après qu’un problème de redémarrage lors de l’arrêt au stand obligatoire de Bennett ait failli lui coûter la course.

Dès l’apparition du drapeau vert, Bennett s’éloigne du reste du peloton de 11 voitures, et dans les premiers tours de la course de 40 minutes et 19 tours, il continue à creuser l’écart sur Engen, Juan Gonzalez (Pescarolo LMP1), Joel Quadracci (Oreca 03 LMP2), et James Davidson (Oreca 03 LMP2), qui sont tous impliqués à un moment ou à un autre dans une lutte serrée pour les positions deux, trois, quatre, et cinq.

Mais les arrêts aux stands obligatoires sont venus perturber le peloton.

« J’ai calé et le moteur n’a pas démarré parce qu’il était trop chaud », a expliqué Bennett à propos de son problème dans le stand. « Je suis resté assis pendant quelques minutes, et nous avons en quelque sorte démarré en trombe, et nous sommes revenus sur la piste.

Le retard de Bennett dans les stands a brièvement permis à Davidson de prendre la tête, mais cette avance s’est évanouie et Davidson a finalement abandonné au 18e tour, laissant Egan, Mark Brannon (Riley and Scott MK3C), Robert Tornello (Coyote Corvette DP) et David Lockwood occuper les places deux à cinq, Davidson étant finalement crédité d’une huitième place derrière Gonzalez (sixième) et George Krass (septième) au volant de sa Chevrolet Corvette CER.

Malgré ce faux pas, Bennett s’est dit satisfait de la performance de sa voiture. « C’était la première fois que la voiture était sur la piste ce week-end. Il n’y a pas eu d’essais. C’était notre première course. Notre consommation de carburant était très incertaine. Nous pensions pouvoir faire 19 tours dans une course de 20 tours ; nous n’étions donc pas sûrs d’y arriver, mais heureusement, j’ai pu rouler lentement pendant les deux derniers tours. Je n’ai aucune idée du nombre de tours supplémentaires que j’aurais pu faire, mais il s’en est fallu de peu.

La « course de qualification » d’aujourd’hui a permis de définir le terrain pour la course de dimanche après-midi des Légendes de l’Endurance. Davidson sera suivi dimanche par James Hagen (Orca FLM09), Gregory Thornton (March 83G) et Quadracci, qui a abandonné au 7e tour.

Deux pénalités potentielles doivent être réglées avant la course de dimanche. Davidson a été épinglé pour une violation de la vitesse dans les stands, et Krass n’a pas fait d’arrêt aux stands dans la fenêtre qui lui était impartie.

Claude Malette et Jeff Lewis n’ont pas pris le départ de la course de qualification.

Le départ de la course de dimanche est prévu à 16h15.

Masters Endurance Legends USA – Course 2
Engen remporte la deuxième course des Masters Endurance Legends USA à Road America

Après avoir terminé second de Craig Bennett dans la course 1 vendredi après-midi, Travis Engen (Audi R8 LMP1) a remporté la course 2 des Masters Endurance Legends de belle manière cet après-midi au WeatherTech International Challenge with Brian Redman Presented by Hawk.

Engen a remporté une victoire de 26,256 secondes sur Juan Gonzalez (Pescarolo LMP1). Joel Quadracci (Oreca 03 LMP2) est troisième, Mark Brannon (Riley and Scott MK3C) quatrième, et Robert Blain (Orca 03 LMP2) cinquième.

« C’était une course amusante pour moi », a déclaré Engen. « J’ai vu leurs phares reculer derrière moi, c’était vraiment bien ».

Au drapeau vert, Quadracci prend la tête, Engen le suit de près et Gonzalez, Robert Tornello (Coyote Corvette DP) et Brannon suivent en ordre serré.

« J’ai doublé Joel au 2e tour en entrant dans le 5e virage – j’ai plus de puissance que lui, même s’il a plus d’appui – puis je l’ai distancé. J’espérais qu’il se battrait avec Juan, qui était juste derrière lui, mais je ne pense pas qu’ils l’aient fait.

Gonzalez a dépassé Quadracci au 4e tour, ce qui, à l’exception des bouleversements normaux de l’ordre de passage en raison des arrêts aux stands obligatoires, a établi les trois premières positions pour le reste de la course de 40 minutes et 19 tours.

Tornello s’est accroché pour terminer sixième.

Il n’y a pas eu d’abandon dans la course, bien que Craig Bennett (Lola B12/80), auteur de la pole position et vainqueur de la course 1, n’ait pas pris le départ de la course car il participait également à la course de prototypes précédant immédiatement la course d’endurance Masters, abandonnant au 7e tour de la course de 8 tours.

Comme pour la course Masters Historic Formula One d’aujourd’hui, Brian Redman, l’homonyme du week-end, a procédé à la remise des trophées dans la voie de la victoire.

« La piste était superbe et ce fut un week-end extraordinaire », a déclaré Engen après la présentation des podiums.

Les Masters Endurance Legends USA se rendront ensuite au Monterey Pre-Reunion au WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca les 10 et 11 août et au Rolex Monterey Motorsports Reunion du 15 au 18 août, également au WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca.

Masters Historic Formula One USA – Course 1
Hagan remporte la course numéro 1 du Masters Historic Formula One USA.

Cet après-midi, au WeatherTech International Challenge de Road America avec Brian Redman Presented by Hawk, James Hagan a remporté la première course – et humide – de Masters Historic Formula One USA.

Hagan, au volant de sa Tyrrell 011, a mené les quatre tours de cette course écourtée par les conditions météorologiques. Ron Maydon (LEC CRP1) a terminé deuxième, Andrew Beaumont (Lotus 76/1) troisième et Brad Hoyt (Hill GH1) quatrième. Chris Bender (Arrows A6) et Greg Thornton (Lotus 91/5) ont chacun enregistré un tour. Six pilotes n’ont pas pris le drapeau vert.

La marge de victoire de Hagan est de 40,674 secondes.

La course a commencé sous un ciel très couvert et une pluie brumeuse qui a continué à tomber tout au long de la compétition. Avant la course, des vents violents et de fortes pluies ont enveloppé la piste par intermittence.

« Je ne m’attendais pas à ce genre d’après-midi, et je me suis sentie chez moi », a déclaré Mme Hagan, qui est originaire d’Irlande. « C’est le genre de temps que nous avons chez nous.

Les conducteurs irlandais sont habitués à la pluie, a déclaré Hagan, qui a ajouté en souriant : « J’ai fait la danse de la pluie ce matin, et la pluie s’est invitée ».

En ce qui concerne ses efforts sur la piste, Hagan a déclaré ceci : « Je me suis contenté de garder la tête baissée et, comme l’a dit un vieux mécanicien, de ne pas regarder dans les rétroviseurs.

Comme d’autres événements du programme de l’après-midi du WeatherTech International Challenge, la course des Masters a été écourtée après que le temps de la journée soit passé de chaud et humide à frais (ou du moins plus frais) et détrempé lorsque des orages et de fortes bourrasques ont commencé à balayer la piste à la mi-journée, nécessitant un retard substantiel dans les activités en raison de la foudre dans les environs.

La dernière course Masters Historic Formula One USA du week-end est prévue demain matin à 10 h 45.

Masters Historic Formula One USA – Course 2
Thornton trouve la rédemption dans le Wisconsin et remporte la deuxième course du Masters Historic Formula One USA à Road America

Hier matin, dans des conditions détrempées lors du WeatherTech International Challenge avec Brian Redman Presented by Hawk, la course de Greg Thornton s’est terminée prématurément lorsqu’il a glissé hors de la piste entre le virage 8 et le virage 9 (ce dernier étant le célèbre Carousel de Road America).

Ce matin, Thornton a remporté la deuxième course Masters Historic Formula One USA de ce week-end en réalisant un dépassement parfait au même endroit, en se glissant à l’extérieur du poleman Ethan Shippert à mi-parcours du Carousel. Le dépassement au 3e tour a permis à Thornton de distancer Shippert et d’obtenir une marge de 12,489 secondes sur le pilote de la Brabham BT44 dans la course de huit tours et de 32 miles.

« C’était une question de foi en Ethan », a déclaré Thornton dans le couloir de la victoire. « C’est de cela qu’il s’agit, de la foi en lui.

Au tour précédent, Shippert s’est retrouvé « un peu sur le côté », a expliqué Thornton. « Je pense qu’il savait à quoi je pensais. Au tour suivant (3e tour), nous avons pris une bonne sortie et nous sommes allés tout droit vers le pont et le Carousel. Il me voyait et il a gardé sa ligne intérieure, ce qui était la chose à faire en toute courtoisie, et je l’ai contourné par l’extérieur.

S’il avait fait autre chose, a dit M. Shippert, il aurait pu les mettre tous les deux dans les « tulies ».

La course a débuté sous un ciel ensoleillé avec des températures de l’ordre de 70 degrés, ce qui constitue un changement important par rapport à la course 1 de samedi. Shippert est en pole position, avec Thornton à ses côtés. Au départ, Shippert devance Thornton dans le virage 1 et le maintient à distance pendant les deux premiers tours, Thornton étant souvent distancé de quelques millièmes de seconde.

« Greg a pris l’avantage à l’entrée du Carousel et, comme il l’a dit, je savais ce qu’il pensait et je savais où il était le plus fort, il n’y avait donc pas lieu de lutter », a déclaré Shippert.

Ainsi, pour Thornton, une expérience décevante dans les virages 8 et 9 le samedi, et une rédemption au même endroit le dimanche.

Derrière Thornton et Shippert, Chris Locke (Lotus 77) a pris la troisième place, tandis que James Hagan (Tyrrell 011) et Robert Blain (March 751) complétaient le top 5.

Dans la voie de la victoire, Brian Redman, qui a donné son nom au WeatherTech International Challenge with Brian Redman Presented by Hawk, a remis les trophées à Thornton, Shippert et Locke.

Les Masters Historic Formula One USA se rendront ensuite au Monterey Pre-Reunion au WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca les 10 et 11 août et au Rolex Monterey Motorsports Reunion du 15 au 18 août, également au WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca.

La série Masters Historic Formula One USA 2019 se terminera du 1er au 3 novembre sur le circuit des Amériques à Austin, où elle servira de course de soutien au Grand Prix des États-Unis.

Road America, USA

WeatherTech International Challenge with Brian Redman, 18 – 21 July 2019

RACE REPORTS

Masters Endurance Legends USA – Race 1
Bennett Prevails During Endurance Legends Qualifying Race

Craig Bennett overcomes a pit-stop oops to win The Masters Endurance Legends qualifying race at Road America’s WeatherTech International Challenge with Brian Redman Presented by Hawk

Although for Craig Bennett today’s Masters Endurance Legends qualifying race began as something of a walk in the park, it ended a much closer contest as Bennett, in his Lola B12/80, bested Travis Engen (Audi R8 LMP1) by a modest 36 seconds after a restart problem during Bennett’s mandatory pit stop nearly cost him the race.

At the drop of the green flag, Bennett sailed away from the rest of the 11-car field, and in the early laps of the 40-minute 19-lap race he continued to pad his lead over Engen, Juan Gonzalez (Pescarolo LMP1), Joel Quadracci (Oreca 03 LMP2) , and James Davidson (Oreca 03 LMP2), who were all involved at one time or another in tight battles for positions two, three, four, and five.

But then came the mandatory pit stops, which jumbled the field.

“I stalled it, and it wouldn’t kick over, because it was too hot,” Bennett explained about his pit problem. “I just sat there for a few minutes, and we kind of bump-started it, and we got back on the track.”

Bennett’s pit delay briefly allowed Davidson to grab the lead, but that lead faded and Davidson eventually retired on lap 18, leaving Egan, Mark Brannon (Riley and Scott MK3C), Robert Tornello (Coyote Corvette DP), and David Lockwood to fill slots two through five, with Davidson eventually being credited with an eighth-place finish behind Gonzalez (sixth) and George Krass (seventh) in his Chevrolet Corvette CER.

Even with the pit misstep, Bennett said he was pleased with his car’s performance. “This was the first time the car was on the track this weekend. No testing. It was our first race. Our fuel mileage was very questionable. We figured we could do 19 laps in a 20-lap race; so, we weren’t sure if we were going to make it, but fortunately I was able to run slow the last couple of laps. I have no idea how many more laps I could have gone, but it was close.”

Today’s “qualifying race” set the field for Sunday afternoon’s Endurance Legends feature race. Following Davidson in the starting lineup on Sunday will be James Hagen (Orca FLM09), Gregory Thornton (March 83G), and Quadracci, who retired on lap 7.

To be settled before Sunday’s feature race are two potential penalties. Davidson was nabbed for a pit-speed violation, and Krass did not make a pit stop in his required window.

Claude Malette and Jeff Lewis did not start the qualifying race.

Sunday’s feature race is scheduled to begin at 4:15.

Masters Endurance Legends USA – Race 2
Engen Wins Second Masters Endurance Legends USA Race at Road America

After finishing second to Craig Bennett in Race 1 on Friday afternoon, Travis Engen (Audi R8 LMP1) won Masters Endurance Legends Race 2 in fine fashion this afternoon at the WeatherTech International Challenge with Brian Redman Presented by Hawk.

Engen cruised to a 26.256-second victory over Juan Gonzalez (Pescarolo LMP1). Joel Quadracci (Oreca 03 LMP2) was third, Mark Brannon (Riley and Scott MK3C), fourth, and Robert Blain (Orca 03 LMP2) fifth.

“It was a fun race for me,” Engen said. “I saw their headlights receding behind me, so that was really good.”

At the green flag, Quadracci jumped into the lead, with Engen hard behind him and Gonzalez, Robert Tornello (Coyote Corvette DP), and Brannon following in close order.

“I passed Joel on (Lap 2) going down into Turn 5–I have more power than he does, although he has more downforce–then I just walked away from him. I was hoping he would have a tussle with Juan, who was right behind him, but I don’t think they did.”

Gonzalez passed Quadracci on Lap 4, and that, with the exception of the normal running order shakeups because of mandatory pit stops, established the top three positions for the remainder of the 40-minute, 19-lap race.

Tornello soldiered on to finish sixth.

There were no retirements in the race, although pole-sitter and Race 1 winner Craig Bennett (Lola B12/80), did not start the race because he also competed in the prototype race immediately preceding the Masters Endurance race, retiring from that contest on Lap 7 of the 8-lap race.

As with today’s Masters Historic Formula One race, Brian Redman, the weekend’s namesake, made the trophy presentations in Victory Lane.

“The track was great, and it was an awesome weekend,” Engen said after the podium presentations.

The Masters Endurance Legends USA next visits the Monterey Pre-Reunion at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca August 10–11 and the Rolex Monterey Motorsports Reunion August 15–18, also at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca.

Masters Historic Formula One USA – Race 1
Hagan Wins Masters Historic Formula One USA Race Number 1.

This afternoon at Road America’s WeatherTech International Challenge with Brian Redman Presented by Hawk, James Hagan won the weekend’s initial –and wet–Masters Historic Formula One USA race.

Hagan, in his Tyrrell 011, led all four laps of the weather-abbreviated race. Ron Maydon (LEC CRP1) was second., Andrew Beaumont (Lotus 76/1) third, and Brad Hoyt (Hill GH1) fourth. Chris Bender (Arrows A6) and Greg Thornton (Lotus 91/5) each recorded one lap. Six drivers did not take the green flag.

Hagan’s margin of victory was 40.674 seconds.

The race began under a deeply overcast sky and a misting rain that continued to fall throughout the contest. Prior to the race, strong winds and heavy rain intermittently enveloped the track.

“I wasn’t expecting this kind of an afternoon, and it made me feel at home,” said Hagan, who is from Ireland. “It’s just the sort of weather we have at home.”

Irish drivers are used to the rain, Hagan said, adding with a smile, “I did the rain dance this morning, and the rain came on.”

Regarding his on-track efforts, Hagan said this: “I just kept my head down, and as an old mechanic once said, ‘Don’t look in your mirrors.’”

As with other events on the WeatherTech International Challenge’s afternoon schedule, the Masters race was abbreviated after the day’s weather turned from hot and humid to cool (or at least cooler) and soggy as thunderstorms and strong squalls began to sweep across the track midday, necessitating a substantial delay in activities because of lightning in the vicinity.

The weekend’s final Masters Historic Formula One USA race is scheduled for tomorrow morning at 10:45.

Masters Historic Formula One USA – Race 2
Thornton Finds Wisconsin Redemption; Wins Masters Historic Formula One USA Race Number 2 at Road America

Yesterday morning, in soggy conditions at this weekend’s WeatherTech International Challenge with Brian Redman Presented by Hawk, Greg Thornton’s race ended early when he slid off the track between Turn 8 and Turn 9 (the latter being Road America’s famous Carousel).

This morning, Thornton won this weekend’s second Masters Historic Formula One USA race by setting up a quintessentially perfect pass at the same location, slipping around the outside of pole-sitter Ethan Shippert midway through the Carousel. The pass on Lap 3 allowed Thornton to ease away from Shippert and claim a 12.489 second margin of victory over the Brabham BT44 driver in the eight-lap, 32-mile race.

“It was all about faith in Ethan,” Thornton said in Victory Lane. “That’s what it was about, faith in him.”

On the previous lap, Shippert had gotten a “little sideways,” Thornton explained. “I think he knew what I was thinking about. On the next lap (Lap 3), we got a good exit, and we went straight to the bridge and into the Carousel. He could just see me, and he held his inside line, which was the gentlemanly thing to do, and I drove around him on the outside.”

Had he done anything else, Shippert said, he might have put both of them in “the tulies.”

The race began under sunny skies with temperatures in the mid-70s, a significant turnabout from Race 1 on Saturday. Shippert was on the pole, with Thornton alongside him. At the start, Shippert beat Thornton to Turn 1 and kept him at bay throughout the first two laps, with Thornton often trailing by milliseconds.

“Greg got the run coming into the Carousel, and like he said, I knew what he was thinking, and I knew where he was stronger, so there was no point in fighting it,” Shippert said.

So, for Thornton, a disappointing experience in Turns 8 and 9 on Saturday, and redemption at the same location on Sunday.

Behind Thornton and Shippert, Chris Locke (Lotus 77) claimed third, and James Hagan (Tyrrell 011) and Robert Blain (March 751) rounded out the top five.

In Victory Lane, Brian Redman, the namesake of the WeatherTech International Challenge with Brian Redman Presented by Hawk, presented the trophies to Thornton, Shippert, and Locke.

The Masters Historic Formula One USA next visits the Monterey Pre-Reunion at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca August 10–11 and the Rolex Monterey Motorsports Reunion August 15–18, also at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca.

The 2019 Masters Historic Formula One USA series concludes November 1–3 at the Circuit of the Americas in Austin, where it will serve as a support race for the United States Grand Prix.