WeatherTech Raceway, Laguna Seca

Masters Speed Festival
15 – 16 May 2021

The Masters Speed Festival at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca was our very first home US event and proved to be an all-round hit!

Although the weather was no quite what anyone had hoped, the event provided some exciting racing and a relaxed paddock bonhomie for everyone to enjoy! The first races back for Masters Historic Formula One USA proved that those cars have lost none of their interest and it was great to see the new Masters Formula Atlantic Plus take to the 2.238 mile, 11-turn track!


Masters Endurance Legends USA

The first Masters Endurance Legends USA race was a green flag to checker victory for Spencer Trenery in his 2006 Riley MK XI Gen 1 DP. After starting second Stephen Romak (Morgan Pescarolo) trailed the winner by just 0.742 second. Cal Meeker brought his 1987 Spice GTP third.

In the 2nd Masters Endurance Legends race, Spencer Trenery followed up on his Race 1 victory with a first place. In addition to the victory Trenery set the fastest lap at 1:24.543 in his 2006 Riley MK XI Gen 1 DP. Cal Meeker placed second with 1987 Spice GTP. John McKenna and Ross Thompson made up for his late race spin in the morning race with a third place in his 2006 Riley Scott DP Mk II.

Masters Formula Atlantic Plus

Timothy De Silva lead the pack home in the first Masters Formula Atlantic Plus race in his Ralt RT1. The 1977 Chevron B39 driven by Laurent Parmentier took second place with Danny Baker third in his Ralt RT1.

The top 3 finishers of the Masters Formula Atlantic Plus Race 2 was a carbon copy of this morning’s Race 1 results. Tim De Silva led from start to finish in his 1976 Ralt RT1. In addition, he posted the fastest lap at 1:24.763. The second finisher was again Laurent Parmentier driving the 1977 Chevron B39. Danny Baker brought his 1979 Ralt RT1 home in third position.

Masters Historic Formula One USA
Charles Nearburg continuing the morning trend of the pole setting car leading and finishing first. Nearburg’s 1981 Williams FW07C finished 1.33 seconds ahead of Martin Lauber in his March 741. Third place went to the March 761 of Stephen Romak.

Charles Nearburg out-dragged the field in his 1981 Williams FW07C at the start to again lead the second Masters Historic Formula One race from flag to flag. Nearburg’s win capped off a weekend that included pole position and wins in both of the Masters Historic Formula One races. Cal Meeker drove his Tyrrell 009 home into second place followed by Tim De Silva’s Alfa Romeo 182 in third.

Masters Vintage Sports Car Trophy
Jim Bouzaglou (Lola T292) won the first race for Masters Vintage Sports Car Trophy leading from start to finish. Second place went to Danny Baker in his 1973 Chevron B23. Third was Gray Gregory in his 1973 Chevron B26.

Jim Bouzaglou wrapped up a perfect weekend when he won the second race for Masters Vintage Sports Car Trophy. He again led from start to finish in his 1973 Lola T292. Gray Gregory improved one position over his morning result with a second place finish in his 1973 Chevron B26. Chris Bender joined the top 3 finishers with a valiant third place in his 1976 Lola T296.